W8-BEN and withholding tax
Posted: Monday, May 07, 2018 7:18:46 AM
By most people standards I'm fairly new to Zazzle. I've spent an enormous amount of time getting to know the platform first because I like to do things right. I've submitted my W8-BEN last year November, was notified that Zazzle received it and that it will be processed in due time. No problem, I understand due process.
In December I made my first sale and was elated because I've spent lots of time on my designs but haven't started marketing them yet.
In February when my payment was released it was $19 short.
At first I was told that Zazzle made the full payment and only after sending in a copy of my Paypal payments received would they acknowledge that the payment was $19 less than the full total.
Then I was told this is the 30% withholding tax. After stating that I've completed and sent in my W8-BEN in November 2017 and that I've received acknowledgement of receipt and that accordingly I qualify for a 0% withholding rate there was complete silence. No reply.
I've sent in another email trying to find out what was going on. This time I was told that my address on Zazzle was not the same as the one listed on the W8-BEN. Not true. Zazzle has place to list one address and the W8-BEN has place for both a postal and physical address. So the address is the same, the W8-BEN just has an extra address.
I'm in South Africa, and when I completed my form I made sure that I had all the correct info (section, paragraph)etc filled in stating that according to the tax agreement between the US and South Africa I qualify for zero percent withholding tax as I'm a registered taxpayer in South Africa.
I'm getting nothing from Zazzle and don't know what to do anymore. I love the platform but would have to be stupid to keep wasting my time here if Zazzle is going to withhold 30% of my earnings just so that the South African government can take a futher 35-45% of what's left.
Please help. Does anyone have any advice?